Coming of age Gretta Mulrooney

29929192Gripping women’s fiction about an unusual friendship between a teenage girl and an older woman. This poignant and absorbing novel will take you back to being thirteen again.
A compelling novel of intrigue, growing up, and love for the wrong person by best-selling author Gretta Mulrooney.

Martina is a thirteen-year-old girl struggling to cope with the loss of her father. So her new friendship with the wealthy Cecelia Buchanan offers a lifeline. The older woman opens up Martina to a new world of elegance and beauty, and encourages her artistic talents. But Cecelia shares her flat with the handsome Luca, a younger man, whose motives are not always clear.
This is an intriguing and beautifully written novel about that moment in life when you realise that the adult world is not always what it seems and all the joy and pain of first loss and love.


*Received this from netgalley in exchange for review this has in now way swayed my opinion*

I wanted to really like this book. The description gave it so much hope. But I have to say that I didn’t like it nearly as much as I thought I would.

It was very slow going. It took me quite a while to get into it. Partially because when you first start reading it, you feel like you are further back into the past than what you are. It wasn’t until a cell phone was mentioned, that I realized I was reading a way more modern story. Maybe it was the laid back ways of the old English that made me feel the book was set further back. I’m not sure.

I also didn’t like the way this story ended. Everyone just moved on like nothing ever happened. I think Martina was the only one who was really affected by her friendship with Cecelia. It didn’t really seem to phase anyone else. How sad.

I think all in all this was an okay book. But definitely not one of my favorites.

3/5

Banner

Leave a Reply

