The Redemption of Callie and Kayden Jessica Sorenson (The Concidence #2)

16718083

The dark secret Kayden has kept hidden for years is finally out. Worse, he’s facing charges for battery. The only way to clear his name is for Callie to speak up-something he’ll never ask her to do. Instead, he’ll do whatever he must to protect her . . . even if it means letting go of the only girl he’s ever loved.

Callie knows Kayden is going back to his dark place and desperately wants to save him. But that means facing her greatest fear and admitting her own painful secrets aloud. The thought of breaking her silence terrifies her-but not as much as the thought of losing Kayden forever.

Deep in her heart, Callie knows the time has come for her and Kayden to forget the pain of the past. With the help of her friends Seth and Luke she makes a plan to show Kayden the life they could have. But can she convince him they can make a fresh start together-or is she already too late?


In ‘The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden’, Callie Lawrence was saved by Kayden Owens. Now Kayden may be the one who needs saving…

It’s been 7 months and 14 days since I’ve read ‘The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden’. It was easily one of my favorite books of 2012. And we all know it had one helluva cliffhanger! Well, it was worth the wait! I thought the sequel was fantastic. And it picked up right where the first book left off…

Callie is worried about Kayden. After finding him the way she did, she needs to see him. Make sure he’s okay. His mother (evil) is making it very difficult.

My poor, damaged Kayden. Kayden is one of my favorite book boyfriends. Something about this guy just tugs on my heart. Kayden is stuck. He can’t tell the truth about what happens, so he lets people assume what they will. By doing that, he pushes away the people that matter most to him. He doesn’t want to burden them.

“You deserve better than this.”

It is a struggle for these two at the beginning of the book. Once they can get to the point where Kayden can trust Callie and open up to her, things were much better.

“I trust you, Kayden. Even if you don’t want me to.”

I want him to me like I trust him. I owe him that much.
I owe him a lot
I owe him everything.

There is something about someone trusting you enough with their secrets that it makes it easier to trust them. It’s like they’re opening their heart and in return yours should open up to them, too.

The thing about Callie and Kayden that I love so much is that they both are broken. They both are tortured souls with traumatic pasts. They both have a ton of issues. Separate, they are kind of a mess. But together… together they are better. Whole. Perfect for one another.

I realize how perfect we are for each other and also how disastrous we could end up being. Because even though we can help each other pick up the pieces of our lives, we could also break at the same time and then nothing would be left to catch us as we crumble.

The turning point is when Kayden realizes he doesn’t have to do this alone. He has people he can trust. That love him. That want to be there for him. That understand him.

All he wants is for Callie to be happy. He’s the only thing that makes her happy.

“Just tell me what you need to make you happy.”
She looks me in the eye with tears streaming down her cheeks.
“You.”
Callie and Kayden have a special bond, a connection. It’s like they were made for one another.

Whenever she looks at me, I swear she steals another piece of my soul. Unlike most people, she doesn’t care if it’s damaged. And once we kiss, I’m gone. The broken, soulless, empty Kayden who’s existed since the first time his father beat him no longer lives. She owns me and I want nothing more than to be with her.

But to truly be able to move on and get over their past, they have to confront it. It’s a very scary thing to do. It’s one thing to confide in each other, but to get it out in the open to someone else. It’s not easy. But necessary.

“You don’t forget. You just move past it. Let go. Be who you are supposed to be instead of who they make you feel like you should be.”

They can do this. As long as they are in it together, they can do it. Move on. Confront their demons.

Okay. We can do this. Because I think we’re stronger together.”

They are there for one another, but this may be something they need to do alone.

“Thank you for saving me.”

“Thank you for saving me too.”

A beautiful and emotional story of love, hope, healing, freedom, moving on and learning to give and accept love. If you haven’t read this series, I highly recommend it. A solid 5 star read for me.

5/5 Stars

Banner

Leave a Reply

