Dreamscape Saving Alex Kirstin Pulioff

22819674

 

Sixteen year old Alexis Stone is used to getting away from life’s frustration with Dreamscape, a video game she’s loved since childhood. As her family prepares to move a sleepy night of gaming pulls her into the world like never before. Trapped in Dreamscape’s realm, Alex is about to learn tht being a hero has consequences… and this time the stakes are deadly. Will helping the rebellion cost her everything she knows and loves? Or will she betray them to save her life?

 

 

 


Received for review from netgally and the publisher this has in no way effected my opinion.  

I was engaged from the very first page through I’ll admit that at first, Alex wasn’t high on my list of favorite characters. She whined and pouted and was so full of teenage drama and angst that I’m surprised she didn’t lay on the floor and throw a tantrum. I hated her mother even more, so I was willing to side with the teen. Throughout the book there was a wide array of characters with different personalities some that I liked some that I didn’t and some that fooled me and forced me to change my opinion of them. Alex was definitely one of those. She grew throughout the story at a natural pace and before I knew it she was a pretty spectacular person. I adored her. The only person I liked more was Arrow.

Technically speaking the story was exceptionally well written. I didn’t run into any obvious typos or errors, no grammatical fumbles or awkward sentences. The pace moved steadily along at a nice pace and I lost track of time. For six hours I got sucked into Alex’s world and I didn’t come up for air until the end of the story. The book was filled with grand adventures and quests colourful characters, daring battles, deadly traps and a heart-breaking romance. I couldn’t have asked for more.

My only complaint was the ending… because I really, Really wanted just one more chapter…or you know a continuation of the book. Why is this not a series?.

Overall I loved the book. If you like YA Fantasy and you’re looking for a fun book filled with crazy adventure, hijinks and a bit of a romantic subplot I would urge you to pick up this book and give it a try. It’s going on my keeper shelf… and then I’m going to hand it to my daughter. There’s some mild gore/violence/ romance involved.

5/5 Stars

Banner

Leave a Reply

