Can you keep a secret Sophie Kinsella

882043Emma is like every girl in the world. She has a few little secrets.

Secrets from her mother:
1. I lost my virginity in the spare bedroom to Danny Nussbaum while Mum and Dad were downstairs watching Ben Hur.

…From her boyfriend:
2. I’m a size twelve. Not a size eight, like Connor thinks.
3. I’ve always thought Connor looks a bit like Ken. As in Barbie and Ken.

…From her colleagues:
4. When Artemis really annoys me, I feed her plant orange juice. (Which is pretty much every day)
5. It was me who jammed the copier that time. In fact, all the times.

…Secrets she wouldn’t share with anyone in the world:
6. My G string is hurting me.
7. I faked my Maths GCSE grade on my CV.
8. I have no idea what NATO stands for. Or even what it is…

…until she spills them all to a stranger on a plane. At least, she thought he was a stranger…


Emma Corrigan’s life is not going well when she boards a plane at Glasgow airport. Desperate to prove herself to her insentive parents and horrible cousin, she really needs this disastrous marketing meeting to have gone well. Weighed down by work worries not alleviated by a somewhat lacklustre relationship with her boyfriend, Emma nevertheless forgets these trivial concerns when faced with a greater foe; flying because she is terrified of air travel. Just her bad luck then that the plane encounters turbulence that would freak out even the most sanguine and seasoned of travellers. To keep her mind from her terror and because it doesn’t matter since they’re all going to die anyway, she pours out her innermost secrets to a stranger sitting next to her.

Need I say more. The plot is fairly predictable but as with all of this writer’s books it’s the characterisation that’s important as well as the humour with which the story plays out. All of Sophie’s main characters are likeable. Emma is no exception and she is the sort of girl we all want to have as our best friend. So just let yourself be carried away and disappear into this fun filled yet sensitive and moving romp.

 

4/5

Banner

Leave a Reply

